Chapel of San Ramon

California State Historic Landmark 877

Plaque exists. Site exists. Landmark location.

Plaque Photo:

#877 Chapel of San Ramon
This redwood frame chapel, erected in 1875 by Frederick and Ramona Foxen Wickenden for area residents, illustrates the transition between the architecture of the old missions and the frame churches of the later American settlers. It is a unique example of the use of wood to create strong, simple forms that had formerly been executed in adobe.

Site Photo:



Approximately 1 mi SW of corner of Tepusquet and Foxen Canyon Rds, at 6601/03 Foxen Canyon Rd (PM 17.91), 15 mi SE of Santa Maria.

Landmark logo Return to other landmarks in Santa Barbara county.

Send comments to:
Donald Laird